Akershus Fortress

DSCN0579 kopiEarly February can be a bit dreary in Oslo, says the girl from the Stavanger. While I was in Oslo earlier this year, I spent a few hours walking around in the city centre. Before this trip, it had been a few years since the last time I was in Oslo, and a lot of the places I saw were places I hadn’t been before.

When I was walking around in the rain and snow, I walked past this. This is Akershus festning, or Akershus Fortress in english, and it is located close to the City Hall and the Nobel Peace Center, at the harbor. The Fortress has been there for almost 700 years, and is considered one of Norway’s most important cultural monuments. (Fortress Trail)

Comments

